Mindful Mountain Yoga Blog

id = "FBMainForm_38601630" action="/blog.html" method = "post" onsubmit = "return false" >
Mindful Mountain Yoga Blog New Entry  Search  

Muladhara Chakra
by Byogamm on 
Muladhara ("root support") is our procreation energy, a reservoir symbolized by a lotus with red four petals.

Muladhara is the first chakra, located beneath the sacrum while its activation point is located between the perineum and the coccyx. Muladhara is the base from which the three main energy (psychic) channels emerge: the Ida, Pingala and Sushumna.

Seat of kundalini

The kundalini shakti is said to sleep in Muladhara, the source from which it originated. It is represented by a snake wrapped three and a half times around a smoky grey lingam.

Muladhara is considered the foundation of the "energy body". Yogic systems stress the importance of stabilizing this chakra.
Kundalini awakening begins here. It is also known as the seat of the "red bindu," or subtle drop, which rises up to the "white bindu" in the head to unite the feminine and masculine energies, the Shakti and Shiva.

It is associated with the element of earth, the sense of smell and the action of excretion.

"By meditating thus on Her, who shines within the Muladhara Chakra with the luster of ten million Suns, a man becomes Lord of speech and King among men, and an Adept in all kinds of learning. He becomes ever free from all diseases, and his inmost Spirit becomes full of great gladness."


In kundalini yoga there are various yogic practices held to incite the energy in Muladhara: asanas (such as Garudasana, Shashankasana and Siddhasana); nosetip gazing, or Nasikagra Drishti; specific pranayamas; and most importantly the practice of Mula Bandha, involving the contraction of the perineum, which awakens kundalini.

This chakra can also be activated by chanting the Seed-Mantra (Lam). It is said that one who chants the Seed Mantra of Muladhara Chakra for more than 100,000,000 times can attain all the Siddhis of the Muladhara Chakra.

  1. He or she experiences Darduri Siddhi (Frog jump in air at various degrees).
  2. He or she gains knowledge of the Present, Past and Future.
  3. He or she has control over the Elements of the Earth.
Hide Comments     Permalink     Add Comment


Mindful Mountain Yoga Blog Pages